top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarv Flo

Day 3: Observation 1

Updated: Nov 11, 2018

Monday

Class: X Akuntansi

Observation Hours: 2 hrs 15 mins

Lesson: Introducing One's Self


My fist day at school could not be more exciting. I was fetched from the dorm by ULM’s coordinator, Mr. Edwar and SMK MUHAMMADIYAH 3’s vice-headmaster, Mr. Rusdian. When I got to the school I was welcomed by the headmaster, Mr. Mungin and also by my cooperating teacher/mentor, Mrs. Aulia. I also had the pleasure of meeting the faculty of the school.


From left to right, Mr. Rusdian (Vice Headmaster) Mr. Mungin (Headmaster), yours truly, and Mr. Edwar (ULM Coordinator)

My very beautiful Mentor, Mrs. Aulia

I had the longest and most nerve-racking flag ceremony. The flag ceremony took forty-five minutes and I had to introduce myself to the whole school. Imagine speaking to a hundred of foreigners.



I had the pleasure of getting briefed by my mentor, Mrs. Aulia about what to expect and what I am to do. She gave me the syllabus, lesson plan format, and topics I’ll be teaching. The topics are “congratulating others” and “expressing intention”. I was told I’ll be handling Grade 10 and 12 students.


Click here to see the syllabus and lesson plan.


I also was fortunate to observe a practitioner who’s also majoring in English. The topic she taught was about "Introducing One’s Self". I noticed that some students asked for clarification from Mrs. Aulia regarding the lesson. The practitioner was teaching using their language, Bahasa. I was wondering how much harder it will be for me to teach my lessons using English.


Student Teachers like me from UIN. Hyati and Henny.

Word of the Day: Semangat – Fighting

After seeing what needs to be accomplished for the whole month, I’m more excited than ever and I’m definitely looking forward to the challenges. Semangat!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page